Options for Men Friendly Yoga…

One of my original intentions for this blog was to compile a list of places that had men focused yoga.  Women have gyms that are tailored for women and are havens where they can go, work out, and feel comfortable.  I believe guys would benefit from this same model when it comes to yoga.

 

I’ve spent a few posts discussing some of the barriers and some of the attractions of yoga to men.  It’s my desire to set up a resource where men can find yoga that is welcoming to them, invites us in, and allows us to have fun.  As I have said before, yoga is not really a competitive sport.  It is about giving the practitioner comfortable space to practice and grow.

 

I have done a little (by no means exhaustive) searching to see what I could find.  I am disappointed to say that the options I was able to find were very sparse.

 

I am adding a page to hold what I have found so far, and I welcome additions to this list.  I would like to make this a resource for finding guy focused yoga anywhere.  I hope this is useful and something that grows over time.

 

For those in the New Jersey area, the options are:

 

Yoga for Dudes – a six week series at Devotion yoga starting Tuesday October 15 2013.  This is run by a very good friend of mine, Jay Karlinski.  This is an energetic, challenging guy’s version of yoga.  You can find more information at the following sites.

Devotion Yoga

http://www.devotionyoga.com

For the schedule and to sign up

https://clients.mindbodyonline.com/ASP/home.asp?studioid=2184

 

Surya Yoga in Hoboken is great hot studio that has lots of guys come to classes.  A variety of teachers keep the classes varied, challenging and fun.

http://www.suryayogaacademy.com/

 

Pride Center Yoga in Princeton, NJ also has guy focused classes.  I haven’t been there myself, but here is the link to the site

http://www.pridecenter.org/group/yoga-for-men/

 

 

For those in the New York area:

 

Broga Yoga in Riverhead, NY.  I have heard good things and they are focused solely on guys.

www.brogayoga.com

 

Manhattan

JoshInNYC – Runs classes specifically for guys in the heart of Chelsea.

http://www.joschinyc.com/men/

 

I ask that if you can, support these endeavors.  And if you have others, please post/send them to me and I will add them.

5 thoughts on “Options for Men Friendly Yoga…

  1. What do you think about Mysore style yoga for guys? It has the challenge element- getting through stages over time, and is also able ot be done very easily at home or anywhere else once the main asanas are learnt. It’s the one thing that got me over the line- after many attempts to get into yoga. Seems we have a little bit in common.

    • Absolutely a fantastic introduction to yoga. I like the self practice aspect because it not only tones down the competitive aspect, but it also reinforces the skills and habit of doing yoga at ones own pace. And in my opinion, that is a great way to build a strong self practice. If you have some places that focus on men, please let me know and I will add them to the list. Jai.

      • Not really sure any places focus on men- I think rather than specific classes, all teachers should make a conscious effort to include guys more, rather than have them sit at the back awkwardly struggling.

  2. That is great! If you don’t mind sharing, I would like to add your list, or at least a link to it. If you post it here, I will add to the resources page.

  3. I think this is great. I’ll add that here in Colorado Springs, CO we have yoga classes at the military bases’ gyms which actually draw quite a few men. It is a mixed class, but certainly a great place for guys to start.

Leave a Reply

